Lockdown project, what a world I've discovered!

Hi there.
Over lock down a mate (I’m a back end dev, he’s more database minded) and I have been building a payment app using BTC. He loves BTC. I’m an XRP fanboy.

Then I got my head into iLP.
I am trying to convince him that iLP is the future, BUT I’ve gaps in my knowledge… anyone care to help dis-spell some myths in my head?

1. Where the new PayID is a nice human readable address for sending Token to the same token ONLY (?) iLP is sending token X and receiver getting Token Y… is that correct?

2. If I wanted to accept payments on a webpage or web app, can I share a single iLP address that anyone in the iLP world can send to, and ‘trust’ that it’ll find its way to to a wallet I have told iLP to deposit to?

3. At what point in the payment chain, does iLP kick in so to speak.
    EG: I’ve got ETH on BitStamp. I want to send $100 worth of it to a mate who is an XLM fan.
    I don’t get how and when the iLP part kicks in and my ETH ‘becomes’ XLM. Is there a ‘iLP for dummies’ guide anywhere?

I think that’s it, I’ve loved learning what I have, though I think I HAVE to learn node.js pretty soon! (I’m a PHP dev… sorry!)

1 Like

Hi @beertastic

Most basic use case for PayID is that payer and payee are using same currency, so they only need to exchange payment address, and PayID will map to correct underlying payment rail address like IBAN. ILP is built to accommodate cross ledger transactions, like you said from token x to token y so this is correct.

This is littlebit more complex process. ILP network is basically a credit network between ILSP (Interledger service provider) or ILP connectors, so you can setup your own moneyd instance to receive ILP packets but those are only for the record keeping, and settlement is separate process. With webmonetization standard you can add ILP payments for you website, check it out here http://webmonetization.org/