InsurTech Micropayments

Hey everyone! I’m currently involved in an InsurTech startup that is working on utilizing payment streaming in our business model. I’m totally sold on the abilities of ILP; however, I’m also a little overwhelmed. I’ve been working on our iOS app which is nearing beta; however, I’m running into some issues as I’m not very well versed in some of the underlying technicalities of Interledger. I’m currently working with the Xpring SDK, but I have some knowledge gaps in the underlying protocols that ILP uses. If anyone could point me in the right direction, or provide some advice that’d be greatly appreciated. Cheers!

Hey @garrett,

Thanks for your message! I can help you with the Xpring SDK, although it’s probably worth clarifying a few things beforehand.

First, let’s talk about some potential types of ILP payment network “actor.” For purposes of this discussion, let’s imagine the following three types of actor exist in any Interledger payment network:

1. ILP Core Node Operator (e.g., Packet Processor, primary ILP infrastructure provider).
  2. ILP Service Provider (company that provides connectivity to #1, plus value-add like an SDK).
  3. ILP Edge Participant (e.g., startup with an app that lets it’s users make payments via #1 and #2).

Any particular entity (company, individual, etc) could potential play one or more of these roles at the same time. One thing to note here – and fair warning, IANAL – is that certain deployments of #1 and #2 may (depending on use-case) require that entity to get MSB licensing depending on jurisdiction.

OK, so hold that list of “actors” in your mind for a minute.

Next – I think it’s useful to conceive of Interledger/ILP from two distinct perspectives. First is to think of ILP as a suite of protocols; second is to think of ILP as a payment network.

As a protocol, ILP is similar to the Internet in that anyone who deploys software conforming to said protocol can interoperate with others doing the same.