Monitoring Statistics on ILP

Hi all,

I’m working on a project to gather statistics on the Interledger livenet. This would be a service which both clients and connectors could use to measure statistics such as latency, speed, and exchange rates. I’m fairly new to the network and would love to have your feedback on a few questions.

• How could I use the ping/echo protocols in the connector implementations?

• How exactly does peering work in the network and how could I structure peering with connectors or other clients for my service?

• Could this be used to discover the centrality of certain nodes and the existence of certain routes and their qualities, and thus determine who a new node might want to peer with?

• Related to the above, what kinds of metrics could be used to determine the “quality” of a route?

Looking forward to hearing your thoughts!

6 Likes

Hey - this sounds awesome, and super useful. Working on a simple public connector uptime site, would be great to collaborate. Join the slack channel for open network tools? (interledger.slack.com --> #open-network)

Will dm to follow up.

1 Like

This sounds pretty useful. I’m pretty sure there is something that helps with an element of this either when peering or when sending a payment. I remember @adrianhopebailie talking briefly about packet routing and some of this seems to be taken into consideration if I remember correctly.

Available liquidity and trust limits may be something else people may want to review and consider when making peering decisions and an index of these values would be great.

1 Like

Ping / echo – you could identify the ilp address of each connector and get a measure of the latencies by pinging them. This would give you a standard to compare the latency of each path from the viewpoint of your connector.