Atomic swaps and Interledger

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Interledger and I am currently exploring the use cases it can serve.

From what I’ve read so far (PDF paper, RFC-s, demos), most of the time Interledger is used to route a payment from a sender to a receiver, via a (linear) path of connectors.

However, a much more interesting use case would be to “swap” assets tracked on one ledger (e.g. car ownership) for assets tracked on another ledger (e.g. ETH). Effectively those could materialize as two payments grouped as a transaction.

The PDF paper (https://interledger.org/interledger.pdf) does briefly mention the possibility to implement swaps:

“When trading different assets, connectors in C effectively
write the sender p1 an American option [4, 6] which, on
exercise, swaps an asset on one ledger for an equivalent
asset on another ledger.”

So, how does this “american option” fit the current vision of Interledger?

Thank you,
Teodor

Hey Teodor!

The original version of Interledger specified in the whitepaper, ILPv1, defined a protocol for atomic, cross-ledger payments. (This supported atomic swaps since that’s the same as a user making a payment to themselves).

However, the current version of the protocol, ILPv4, removed ledger-enforced hashlocks and moved to a packetized payments model. The high level rationale for this:

• Atomic swaps introduce floating options. Long, ledger-enforced timeouts provide the recipient fulfilling the payment with a floating option, or as you noted, American-style call option. If the exchange rate changes in their favor, they can execute the trade; if the exchange rate goes against them, they can let the timeout expire at no cost. A recent paper estimated counterparties may charge a premium of 1% - 2.3% per trade to cover this risk when using a timeout of one day (pg. 8), which is pretty standard for atomic swaps on Bitcoin.